Nominate an Deserving Colleague in Risk Assessment or Regulation of Chemical Agents for the 2021 SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award

By Brian Cummings posted 14 days ago


SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award

Named in honor of a co-founder of the Society, the SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award recognizes an individual who has made a major contribution to risk assessment and/or the regulation of chemical agents, including pharmaceuticals.

If you have a colleague who has made such a contribution—resulting from the application of sound scientific principles to regulation and/or from research activities that have significantly influenced the regulatory process—you are encouraged to nominate that individual for this esteemed award.

This year’s SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award recipient will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony during the 2021 SOT Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Orlando, Florida.

Making a Nomination

The deadline to submit a nomination is October 9, 2020. Nominations should include both a primary and a secondary letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that provide in layman’s terms an analysis of the nominee’s significant contributions to toxicology and how they apply to the award criteria. The strongest nomination packages include two letters that are distinct from one another to offer more detailed support of the candidate’s qualifications. Nomination packages that include very similar letters of nomination offer less information than those that include recommendations that are varied in content. Letters of nomination should be specific and descriptive while also maintaining a level of concision. The Awards Committee will review only the two letters required to complete the nomination; no additional letters will be considered.

Nominations also should include the nominee’s up-to-date CV. For national SOT Awards, such as the Achievement Award, the Awards Committee requires a standardized length for CVs included in nomination packages. CVs must be a maximum of 10 pages in length and should highlight the candidate’s most significant professional accomplishments as they relate to the criteria for the award. Awards Committee members are required to review only 10 pages of each CV; therefore, submitting a longer CV does not strengthen an award nomination.

For more information on making a nomination, please review the “Awards Review Process and FAQs” web page of the SOT website. Please direct any inquiries to SOT Headquarters.

This is an opportunity to honor your colleagues for their outstanding accomplishments; you are encouraged to submit your nominations by October 9. 

Spotlight on 2020 SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award Recipient Annie M. Jarabek

SOT bestowed the 2020 SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award on Ms. Jarabek in recognition of her major role in transforming chemical risk assessment, especially in enhancing the opportunity for toxicology research to contribute to improved chemical risk assessments.

Ms. Jarabek received her bachelor of science in biology from the University of Notre Dame in 1978. She conducted subsequent graduate work at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center in inhalation toxicology and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in decision analysis. Ms. Jarabek has had a distinguished career with the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA), contributing to the Agency’s evaluation of health risks. She began her work at the US EPA in 1986 as an inhalation toxicologist in the Environmental Criteria and Assessment Office in the Office of Research and Development (ORD), later serving as a toxicologist in the National Health and Environmental Effects Research Laboratory. She held many positions within the National Center for Environmental Assessment, first as a toxicologist/risk assessor and later in such roles as Special Assistant to the Associate Director of Health and Deputy National Program Director of the Human Health Risk Assessment Research Program. She currently serves as Senior Science Advisor in the Health and Environmental Effects Division of the Center for Public Health and Environmental Assessment. 

The work Ms. Jarabek performed within the US EPA has made her a leading advocate for science-based risk assessment within the Agency. She was the principal author of Agency methods to develop dosimetry models and a strategy for their deployment in risk assessment of inhaled agents. She is a nationally and internationally recognized expert on inhalation dosimetry and risk assessment methodology—including through advocacy for and development of examples of biologically motivated approaches to the risk assessment of inhaled chemicals. She has supported high-priority Agency assessments, including inhaled Libby asbestos, manganese, and particulate matter, and her work leading the risk characterization of ingested perchlorate served as the first example of the use of mode-of-action information to support harmonization of cancer and noncancer risk assessments for a chemical. Manifold additional contributions to risk assessment include developing the derivation of reference concentrations for nearly 100 chemicals, as well as a continued effort to foster the use of state-of-the-art scientific methods in regulatory risk assessments that is now extending to novel in vitro approach methodologies. The influence of Ms. Jarabek’s work extends globally, allowing for more relevant and accurate risk assessments for chemicals. 

Among numerous other technical awards and decorations—including best manuscript, abstract, and presentation awards from the SOT Risk Assessment Specialty Section (RASS)—Ms. Jarabek has received Gold, Silver, and seven Bronze Medals from the US EPA, with a bronze most recently bestowed in 2015 for the development of the ORD Strategic Research Action Plan (StRAP) of the Human Health Risk Assessment (HHRA) National Research Program. The Society for Risk Analysis recognized her with its Risk Practitioner of the Year award in 2008, and she received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the University of Massachusetts that same year. An SOT member since 1999, she was the 2004–2005 President of RASS and also is a member of both the Biological Modeling and the Inhalation and Respiratory Specialty Sections, as well as the Women in Toxicology Special Interest Group. She has served on both the Scientific Program Committee and the Awards Committee as well as a strategic communications task force and has organized several Contemporary Concepts in Toxicology meetings. She continues to enjoy organizing and moderating the RASS webinar series.