2017 SOT Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award: Nominate A Deserving Scientist Today!

The Society of Toxicology (SOT) Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award is presented to a member of the Society in recognition of contributions made to the advancement of toxicological science through the development and application of methods that replace, refine, or reduce the need for experimental animals. Thus, this award honors outstanding or significant contributions made by members of SOT to the scientifically sound and responsible use of animals in research. The achievement recognized may be either a seminal piece of work or a long-term contribution to toxicological science and animal welfare.

As with most SOT Awards, nominations for the Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award should include the nominee’s abbreviated CV and both a primary and seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that include documentation and description of the  contributions to toxicology by the nominee. These letters should describe in layman’s terms how these achievements apply to the award criteria.

v22016 Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award CaseyandDavis.jpg

SOT 2016 Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award Recipient Warren Casey (left) accepts his award from 2013–2016 Councilor Myrtle Davis

If you know an SOT member who has advanced the welfare of research animals or made other major contributions to public awareness of research animals in Toxicology, consider nominating him or her for this award today. To nominate yourself or a colleague, please visit the SOT Awards page. Nominations will be accepted online through October 9, 2016.

Recent recipients of the SOT Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award include the following individuals.

  • 2006 William S. Stokes
  • 2007 Thomas Hartung
  • 2009 Sally Robinson
  • 2010 Leonard M. Schechtman
  • 2013 Martin L. Stephens
  • 2015 Marcel Leist
  • 2016 Warren Casey
Recent Stories
Nominate a Deserving Member for the 2020 SOT Achievement Award

SOT Partnering with WebsEdge to Launch Video Program at 2020 Annual Meeting

NIEHS Director Linda S. Birnbaum to Retire October 3