SOT Members Lichtveld and Walker Elected to National Academy of Medicine

On October 17, 2016, the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) announced the election of new members, including Society of Toxicology (SOT) Members Maureen Lichtveld, MD, MPH, and Cheryl Lyn Walker, PhD. Election to NAM is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine and recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.


Lichtveld.png Dr. Lichtveld is professor and chair of the Department of Global Environmental Health Sciences, Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, New Orleans, Louisiana. She is a recent SOT member, joining in June 2015.
wqjjyxmf.jpg Dr. Walker is professor of cellular and molecular biology and director of the Center for Precision Environmental Health, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Texas. She joined SOT in 1989 and served in many leadership positions including as the SOT 2009–2010 President.


The NAM announcement of these new members included the following statement by NAM President Victor J. Dzau, “These newly elected members are outstanding professionals who care deeply about advancing health and healthcare in the US and globally…. Their expertise will help our organization address pressing health challenges and improve health, science, and medicine for the benefit of us all. It is my privilege to welcome these accomplished individuals to the National Academy of Medicine.”


Recent Stories
SOT Concludes a Successful 2020 Virtual Meeting

Engage with the 2020 Virtual ToxExpo

Reflections on the 2020 Virtual Undergraduate Education Program