US EPA Requests Comments on SACC Nominees—24 SOT Members Among Candidates: Deadline September 5

A recent Federal Register Notice provided the names and affiliations of additional candidates currently under consideration for appointment to the US Environmental Protection Agency (US EPA) Science Advisory Committee on Chemicals (SACC). The purpose of the SACC is to provide independent advice and expert consultation at the request of the US EPA Administrator with respect to the scientific and technical aspects of risk assessments, methodologies, and pollution prevention measures or approaches.

Among these candidates are 24 SOT Members, namely David G. Allen, Charles Barton, Richard A. Becker, Johanna Congleton, Elaine M. Faustman, John "Jack" R. Fowle, III, Terry Gordon, Thomas Hartung, Rogene F. Henderson, Michael P. Holsapple, Erik R. Janus, Mark Steven Johnson, Janet E. Kester, Ulrike Luderer, Maricel Maffini, Sidney J. Marlborough, III, Charles George Plopper, Carey N. Pope, Christopher J. Portier, Gloria B. Post, Ruthann A. Rudel, Robert Orrin Wright, Miyoung Yoon, and Hao Zhu.

The US EPA, at this time, anticipates selecting approximately six additional SACC members with specific expertise and perspectives representing industry, labor, animal protection, government, public health, and public interest groups. Public comments on the candidates are invited as they will be used to assist the agency in selecting the additional chartered committee members. Comments must be received on or before September 5, 2017.

Please refer to the Federal Register Notice for guidance on submitting comments via the Federal Rulemaking Portal, mail, or by hand delivery. For further information, please contact Tamue Gibson, Designated Federal Officer, Office of Science Coordination and Policy (7201M), US Environmental Protection Agency, 1200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20460-0001; 202. 564.7642;


Recent Stories
Join SOT and IUTOX for Global Forum on Toxicology

Submit an Abstract for FutureToxIV: Graduate Students and Postdocs Encouraged to Participate

SOT 2019 Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award–Nominate Someone Today!