SOT 2018 Founders Award–Nominate A Deserving Member Today!

2018 SOT Annual Meeting in San Antonio banner

The Society of Toxicology (SOT) Founders Award recognizes the contributions of those professionals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the development or application of state-of-the-art approaches that reveal safety levels of chemical and physical agent exposure with a high degree of certainty. First presented in 2008, this award is funded by the Founders Fund, an SOT Endowment Fund created to honor the visionaries who organized and dedicated their time to establish the SOT.

v22017 Founders AwardMerylKarol.jpg

2017 Founders Award Recipient Meryl H. Karol

Only Full, Emeritus, or Retired members of SOT are eligible for this award. These members must have made significant contributions to toxicology and also clearly demonstrated leadership in fostering the role of toxicology in safety-decision making. 

As with the majority of SOT Awards, nominations for the Founders Award should include the nominee’s abbreviated CV and both a primary and seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that include documentation and description of the significant contributions to toxicology by the nominee. These letters should explain in layman’s terms the nominee's significant contributions to toxicology and how they apply to the award criteria. Nominations are accepted online on the SOT Awards website through October 9, 2017.

Founders Award Recipients

  • 2008 John Doull
  • 2009 Roger O. McClellan
  • 2010 James S. Bus
  • 2011 Joseph F. Borzelleca
  • 2012 John A. Moore
  • 2013 William Alfred Suk
  • 2014 John A. Thomas
  • 2016 Richard H. Adamson
  • 2017 Meryl H. Karol
Recent Stories
SOT Concludes a Successful 2020 Virtual Meeting

Engage with the 2020 Virtual ToxExpo

Reflections on the 2020 Virtual Undergraduate Education Program