Nominate a Deserving Member for the 2020 SOT Founders Award (for Outstanding Leadership in Toxicology)

2020 Annual Meeting Banner - Purple.png

The first Founders Award, now known as the Founders Award (for Outstanding Leadership in Toxicology), was presented in 2008 to recognize the contributions of those professionals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the development or application of state-of-the-art approaches that reveal safety levels of chemical and physical agent exposure with a high degree of certainty. This award is funded by the Founders Fund, an SOT Endowment fund created to honor the visionaries that organized and dedicated their time to establish the Society.

2019 Founders Award.pngOnly Full, Emeritus, or Retired members of SOT are eligible for this award. These members must have made significant contributions to toxicology and clearly demonstrated leadership in fostering the role of toxicology in safety decision-making. 

As with the majority of SOT awards, nominations for the Founders Award should include the nominee’s abbreviated CV (10 pages maximum) and both a primary and a seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that include documentation and description of the nominee’s significant contributions to toxicology. These letters should present in layman’s terms an analysis of the nominee’s significant contributions to toxicology and how they apply to the criteria of the award. Please note: the Awards Committee will review only the two letters required to complete the nomination; no additional letters will be considered.

To nominate, please visit the “Founders Award (for Outstanding Leadership in Toxicology)” web page on the SOT website. Nominations will be accepted online through October 9, 2019.

Past Founders Award recipients include:

  • 2009—Roger O. McClellan
  • 2010—James S. Bus
  • 2011—Joseph F. Borzelleca
  • 2012—John A. Moore
  • 2013—William Alfred Suk
  • 2014—John A. Thomas
  • 2016—Richard H. Adamson
  • 2017—Meryl H. Karol
  • 2018—Ruth A. Roberts
  • 2019—Lois D. Lehman-McKeeman

Nominate Button.png

Recent Stories
Debuting in Anaheim: The TOX Presentation Corner

Wen-Xing Ding Receives 2020 SOT Leading Edge in Basic Science Award

Health and Safety Alert: 2020 SOT Annual Meeting