Congratulations to the 2020 SOT Award Recipients

2020 Annual Meeting Banner - Yellow.png

The Society is pleased to announce the 2020 SOT award recipients. This year’s honorees come from a variety of backgrounds, educational experiences, and career paths and are recognized for their immense contributions to toxicology, including work related to better understanding the toxicological effects on liver injury and disease, immune system function, and reproductive and development health. In addition, individuals are recognized for helping develop and implement toxicology degree programs; supporting and educating undergraduate students; and encouraging and supporting students, early career scientists, and peers through mentoring programs and activities.

Through its awards, SOT recognizes more than two dozen scientists, emerging leaders, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students who are advancing the science of toxicology. In addition, the Society provides support to more than 100 graduate and undergraduate students through student travel awards and the SOT Endowment Fund awards.

The 2020 SOT award recipients will be honored formally at an awards ceremony and other activities during the Society’s 59th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Anaheim, California, March 15–19, 2020.

To view the citations of the award recipients and the full listing of 2020 SOT travel awardees, please consult the “2020 SOT Award Recipients” web page on the SOT website.


SOT Awards

Honorary Membership

SOT Achievement Award


SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award

nagy.png              luyendyk test.png              jarabek.png

Laura E. Nagy, PhD
Cleveland Clinic Lerner
College of Medicine
Cleveland, OH


James P. Luyendyk, PhD
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI
Annie M. Jarabek
Research Triangle Park, NC


SOT Distinguished
Toxicology Scholar

SOT Education Award


SOT Enhancement of
Animal Welfare Award

Shuk-mei Ho.png                    James E. Klaunig.png                    Kristie M. Sullivan.png

Shuk-mei Ho, PhD
University of Arkansas
for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, AR


James E. Klaunig,

Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Kristie M. Sullivan, MPH
Physicians Committee
for Responsible Medicine
Washington, DC


SOT Founders Award

SOT Leading Edge in
Basic Science Award


SOT Merit Award

Sidney Green.png                Wen-Xing Ding.png                Norbert E. Kaminski.png

Sidney Green, PhD, ATS
Howard University
College of Medicine
Washington, DC


Wen-Xing Ding, PhD
University of Kansas
Medical Center
Kansas City, KS
Norbert E. Kaminski, PhD
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI


SOT Toxicologist
Mentoring Award

SOT Translational
Impact Award


SOT Bruce A. Fowler
Undergraduate Educator Award

Ofelia A. Olivero.png            David A. Jett.png            Christine Perdan Curran.png

Ofelia A. Olivero,
National Cancer Institute
Rockville, MD


David A. Jett, PhD
NIH CounterACT Program
Bethesda, MD

Christine Perdan Curran, PhD
Northern Kentucky University
Highland Heights, KY


Toxicological Sciences
Paper of the Year Award

ToxSci POY 2019.png    

Danielle Hagstrom, Lisa Truong,
Siqi Zhang, Robert Tanguay,
and Eva-Maria S. Collins



Supported Grants, Fellowships, and Awards

Colgate-Palmolive Award for
Student Research Training in Alternative Methods

Colgate-Palmolive Grant for Alternative Research

Marco Franco.png Lena Smirnova.png
Marco Franco, MS
Baylor University
Waco, TX

Lena Smirnova, PhD
Johns Hopkins University CAAT
Baltimore, MD


Colgate-Palmolive Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in In Vitro Toxicology

Colgate-Palmolive Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in In Vitro Toxicology

Souavrish Sarkar.png Niyati Vachharajani.png
Souvarish Sarkar, PhD
Brigham and Women’s Hospital
Boston, MA
Niyati Vachharajani, PhD
UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Chapel Hill, NC


Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human
Health Applications of New Technologies

Kumari Itishree Kaushik.png

Kumari Itishree Kaushik, MS
Texas Tech University
Health Sciences Center
Abilene, TX


Global Senior Scholar Exchange Program

GSSEP Scholar


GSSEP Scholar

Monday Onakpa.png               John Joseph Placheril.png
Monday Michael Onakpa,

University of Abuja
Abuja, Nigeria
John Joseph Placheril, PhD
University of Rajasthan
Jaipur, India





Augustine Arukwe.png               J. Christipher States.png           
Augustine Arukwe, DSc
Norwegian University of
Science and Technology (NTNU)
Trondhein, Norway
J. Christopher States, PhD
University of Louisville
School of Medicine
Louisville, KY
Recent Stories
SOT Concludes a Successful 2020 Virtual Meeting

Engage with the 2020 Virtual ToxExpo

Reflections on the 2020 Virtual Undergraduate Education Program