Celebrate a Career's Worth of Contributions to Toxicology: Nominate a Colleague for 2014 Merit Award

MeritAwardv2Lehman-McKeeman uengerich.jpgThe Society of Toxicology (SOT) has been dedicated to recognizing exceptional members with the Merit Award for over 45 years.The Merit Award is presented to a member of the Society who has distinguished her or himself from among their peers through a lifetime of contributions to the field of Toxicology.This award recognizes accomplishments in the areas of research, teaching, regulatory activities, consulting, and service to the Society. 

The 2013 award recipient was Frederick Peter Guengerich, the Stanford Moore Professor of Biochemistry at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine in Nashville, Tennessee.  He is the author or co-author of over 620 peer-reviewed scientific articles. Dr. Guengerich has served as a thesis advisor to 18 graduate students as well as a mentor to 125 postdoctoral trainees. Such was his contribution that Vanderbilt University established a teaching award in his name. Pictured is SOT 2013–2014 President Lois D. Lehman-McKeeman (left) presenting this award to Dr. Guengerich (right).

Similar to many SOT Awards, nominations for the Merit Award require a primary and seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society. These letters should include documentation and description of the significant contributions to toxicology by the nominee as well as the nominee’s current curriculum vitae (CV). Please note that letters simply listing accomplishments found in the CV are not sufficient without analysis and discussion of the important contributions and how the nominee meets the award criteria.

If you know a colleague that deserves to be recognized, please begin the nomination process today by visiting the Awards and Fellowships webpage on the SOT website! While nominations are accepted through October 9, 2013, you will need to take the time to put together the nomination materials. This award will be presented at the SOT Awards Ceremony that will be held at the 2014 SOT Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.

 Previous Merit Award Recipients

  • 1966 Henry F. Smyth Jr.
  • 1967 Arnold J. Lehman
  • 1968 R. T. Williams
  • 1969 Harold C. Hodge
  • 1970 Don D. Irish
  • 1971 Kenneth P. DuBois
  • 1972 O. Garth Fitzhugh
  • 1973 Herbert E. Stokinger
  • 1974 William B. Deichmann
  • 1975 Frederick Coulston
  • 1976 Verald K. Rowe
  • 1977 Harry W. Hays
  • 1978 Julius M. Coon
  • 1979 David W. Fassett
  • 1980 Bernard L. Oser
  • 1981 John H. Weisburger
  • 1982 Harold M. Peck
  • 1983 Perry J. Gehring
  • 1984 Tom S. Miya
  • 1985 Carrol S. Weil
  • 1986 Ted A. Loomis
  • 1987 Bo Holmstedt
  • 1988 Seymour L. Friess
  • 1989 Wayland J. Hayes Jr.
  • 1990 Sheldon D. Murphy
  • 1991 Toshio Narahashi
  • 1992 W. Norman Aldridge
  • 1993 John Doull
  • 1994 Ernest Hodgson
  • 1995 Robert A. Scala
  • 1996 Gabriel L. Plaa
  • 1997 Mary O. Amdur
  • 1998 John A. Thomas
  • 1999 Thomas Clarkson
  • 2000 Philippe Shubik
  • 2001 Donald Reed
  • 2002 Bernard Schwetz
  • 2003 M. W. Anders
  • 2004 Robert Goyer
  • 2005 Roger McClellan
  • 2006 A. Wallace Hayes
  • 2007 James A. Swenberg
  • 2008 Hanspeter Witschi
  • 2009 Gary Williams
  • 2010 Marion F.  Ehrich
  • 2011 Michael Aschner
  • 2012 Curtis D. Klaassen
  • 2013 Frederick Peter Guengerich
Recent Stories
SOT Concludes a Successful 2020 Virtual Meeting

Engage with the 2020 Virtual ToxExpo

Reflections on the 2020 Virtual Undergraduate Education Program