Know Someone Creating A Communications Impact? 2014 Public Communications Award Nomination is Open

v2Public Communications Award Marti Lindsey.jpg

The Society of Toxicology (SOT) presents the Public Communications Award to an individual who has made a major contribution to increasing the general public’s awareness on toxicological issues. This contribution can be made through any aspect of public communications and should have occurred over a significant period of time. This award will be presented at the SOT Awards Ceremony that will be held at the 2014 SOT Annual Meeting in Phoenix, Arizona, March 23–27, 2014.

Pictured is SOT 2012–2015 Councilor Lorrene A. Buckley (left) presenting Marti Lindsey (right) with the 2013 SOT Public Communications Award. Dr. Lindsey is the director of the Community Outreach and Education Core, Southwest Environmental Health Sciences Center (SWEHSC) at the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy in Tucson, Arizona. Dr. Lindsey draws upon her experience, sharing information from the research results of toxicologists and environmental health scientists. She communicates this information to the public and the K–12 education community as well as facilitates partnerships among all these groups. 

Similar to many SOT Awards, nominations for the Public Communications  Award require a primary and seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that include documentation and description of the significant contributions to toxicology by the nominee as well as the nominee’s current curriculum vitae (CV). Please note that letters simply listing accomplishments found in the CV are not sufficient without analysis and discussion of the important contributions made and how the nominee meets the award criteria.

If you know a deserving colleague, please begin the nomination process today by visiting the Awards and Fellowships section of the SOT website. While nominations are accepted through October 9, 2013, you will need to take the time to put together the nomination materials. Nominations for this award can be made for an SOT member or nonmember individual who has made contributions to increase public awareness of toxicology in any of the following qualifying media: books, brochures, continuing education courses, databases, extension bulletins, magazines, newspapers (local or national), public presentations, public forums, radio and television scripts and workshops.

Public Communications Award Recipients

  • 1994 Michael A. Kamrin
  • 1995 Philip Abelson
  • 1996 Bruce N. Ames
  • 1997 Audrey Gotsch
  • 1999 Ann de Peyster
  • 2001 Anna Shvedova
  • 2002 Sam Kacew
  • 2003 Charlene A. McQueen
  • 2004 Kenneth Olden
  • 2005 Robert Kreiger
  • 2007 Linda S. Birnbaum
  • 2010 Philip Wexler
  • 2012 Martin A. Philbert
  • 2013 Marti Lindsey



Recent Stories
SOT Concludes a Successful 2020 Virtual Meeting

Engage with the 2020 Virtual ToxExpo

Reflections on the 2020 Virtual Undergraduate Education Program