Celebrate a Lifetime of Contributions to Toxicology: Nominate a Colleague for the 2020 SOT Merit Award

2020 Annual Meeting Banner - Green.png

SOT has been dedicated to recognizing exceptional SOT members with the SOT Merit Award for over 45 years. The Merit Award is presented to members of the Society that have distinguished themselves from their peers through a lifetime of contributions to toxicology. 

Safe and Haws 2019.pngThis award will be presented at the 2020 SOT Awards Ceremony, and the recipient of this award will be invited to deliver the Merit Award Lecture at the 2020 Annual Meeting in Anaheim, California. In addition to these honors, the recipient of the SOT Merit Award also is invited to present a lecture at a EUROTOX meeting. Nominations will be accepted through October 9, 2019, and should be made for scientists who have contributed significantly to toxicology in the areas of research, teaching, regulatory activities, consulting, and service to the Society.

Similar to many other SOT awards, nominations for the Merit Award should include the nominee’s CV (10 pages maximum) and both a primary and a seconding letter of nomination from Full members of the Society that provide documentation and description in layman’s terms of the significant contributions to toxicology made by the nominee and how they apply to the criteria of the award. Please note: the Awards Committee will review only the two letters required to complete the nomination; no additional letters will be considered.

If you know a colleague that deserves to be recognized, please begin the nomination process today by visiting the “Merit Award” web page on the SOT website.

Past Merit Award recipients include:

  • 2006—A. Wallace Hayes
  • 2007—James A. Swenberg
  • 2008—Hanspeter Witschi
  • 2009—Gary Williams
  • 2010—Marion F. Ehrich
  • 2011—Michael Aschner
  • 2012—Curtis D. Klaassen
  • 2013—Frederick Peter Guengerich
  • 2014—Jay I. Goodman
  • 2015—Günter Oberdörster
  • 2016—Melvin E. Andersen
  • 2017—Samuel M. Cohen
  • 2018—Robert J. Kavlock
  • 2019—Stephen H. Safe

Nominate Button.png

Sidebar Divider.png

Editor’s Sidebar: Stephen H. Safe, PhD, 2019 SOT Merit Award Recipient

The 2019 SOT Merit Award was bestowed upon Stephen H. Safe, PhD, of Texas A&M University to recognize his breakthrough research developments and his devotion to advancing toxicology through mentorship and instruction.

Stephen H. Safe.png

Dr. Safe has been an innovator in the toxicological field since the start of his career. His research is expansive and includes such subjects as the TEF-TEQ concept for dioxin-like chemicals and novel nuclear receptor mediated cancer chemotherapy agents. His laboratory was one of the earliest implementers of cell and biology techniques to investigate mechanisms of chemical toxicity. Further, his work on dioxins and their effect on endocrine systems was instrumental in developing the concept of endocrine disruption. The impact of this research is quantifiable; Dr. Safe has more than 770 publications, and his work has been cited more than 70,000 times, making him the most highly cited toxicologist on Google Scholar with an h-impact factor of 122. 

Dr. Safe is one of Texas A&M’s most decorated professors. In the early 1990s, he helped establish the toxicology curriculum within the Department of Veterinary Physiology and Pharmacology by assembling faculty and students to create a program that would become renowned in the field. These efforts attest to Dr. Safe’s impact on both the university and the discipline of toxicology. More than 115 graduate students who have trained in the Safe laboratory have gone on to have thriving careers after graduation, and numerous respected members of SOT are his former trainees.

In recognition of this award, Dr. Safe presented the 2019 Merit Award Lecture, entitled “Receptor Schizophrenia: Molecules That Regulate Cellular Homeostasis and Disease and Are Important Drug Targets,” at the SOT 58th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Baltimore, Maryland.

Recent Stories
Explore the 2020 Preliminary Program PDF

Call for Hot Topic Session Proposals for the 2020 Annual Meeting

Upcoming SOT Component Group and Committee Award Deadlines: December 2019 and January 2020