SOT Committees Select Papers of the Year

By Joshua Gray posted 02-23-2023 16:46


During the SOT Awards Ceremony in Nashville, the recipients of the Toxicological Sciences Paper of the Year Award will be honored. Selected by the SOT Board of Publications, this award recognizes the author(s) of a paper published in the official SOT journal, Toxicological Sciences, during the 12-month period terminating with the June issue of the calendar year preceding the Annual Meeting at which the award is presented. Congratulations to Theodore A. Slotkin, Edward D. Levin, and Frederic J. Seidler, who are receiving this award for their paper Paternal Cannabis Exposure Prior to Mating, but Not Δ9-Tetrahydrocannabinol, Elicits Deficits in Dopaminergic Synaptic Activity in the Offspring” that appeared in Toxicological Sciences 184, no. 2 (December): 252–64.

On Tuesday, the SOT Postdoctoral Assembly will bestow the SOT Best Postdoctoral Publication Awards during the Postdoctoral Assembly Luncheon. These awards recognize outstanding work accomplished during formal mentored postdoctoral traineeships by recognizing exceptional recently published papers in the field of toxicology. This year’s recipients are:

Qiran Chen, PhD
University of Florida

Paper Citation:
Chen, Qiran, Wei-Chun Chou, and Zhoumeng Lin. 2022. “Integration of Toxicogenomics and Physiologically Based Pharmacokinetic Modeling in Human Health Risk Assessment of Perfluorooctane Sulfonate.” Environmental Science & Technology 56, no. 6 (March): 3623–33. View paper.

Isha Mhatre-Winters, PhD
Florida International University

Paper Citation:
Eid, Aseel, Isha Mhatre-Winters, Ferass M. Sammoura, Melissa K. Edler, Richard von Stein, Muhammad M. Hossain, Yoonhee Han et al. 2022. “Effects of DDT on Amyloid Precursor Protein Levels and Amyloid Beta Pathology: Mechanistic Links to Alzheimer’s Disease Risk.” Environmental Health Perspectives 130, no. 8 (August): 87005. View paper.

Alexandra N. Nail, PhD
University of Louisville

Paper Citation:
Nail, Alexandra N., Lakynkalina M. McCaffrey, Mayukh Banerjee, Ana P. Ferragut Cardoso, and J. Christopher States. 2022. “Chronic Arsenic Exposure Suppresses ATM Pathway Activation in Human Keratinocytes.” Toxicology and Applied Pharmacology 446 (July): 116042. View abstract.

In addition to these presentations, some of the SOT Component Groups will honor outstanding papers during their meetings/receptions.