Nominations for SOT Honorary Membership Due November 4

By Michael Aschner posted 10-19-2023 16:42

2023 Honorary Member Namandjé Bumpus, PhD, presenting
during the 2023 Annual Meeting and ToxExpo
Opening Plenary Session

The Nominating Committee for Honorary Members invites SOT members to nominate a candidate for Honorary Membership. Since 1962, the Society has recognized nonmembers who embody outstanding and sustained achievements in the field of toxicology and/or allied disciplines with Honorary Membership. Candidates are nominated by two Full or Associate members of the Society through a nominating letter and a seconding letter that include information regarding career achievements in toxicology. Honorary members are elected by a two-thirds majority vote of the SOT Council.

Per the SOT Bylaws, no more than two Honorary members may be elected during one term of Council. To nominate someone for Honorary Membership, visit the Honorary Membership award page, select the “Apply” button, and follow all submission instructions. The nomination deadline is November 4.

In addition to the letter of nomination and seconding letter of nomination, the required nomination materials include the candidate’s abbreviated CV (10 pages maximum).

It is a benefit of SOT membership to encourage the recognition of an outstanding individual who is not a member of the Society with a nomination for Honorary Membership!

The 2023–2024 Nominating Committee for Honorary Members includes myself as Chair; Myrtle Davis, DVM, PhD, ATS; and Laurie Haws, PhD, DABT, ATS.