Nominating Committee for Honorary Members Seeks Non-SOT Member Candidates

By Myrtle Davis posted 10-06-2022 15:40

A man and woman are holding a plaque together and smiling at the camera.

One benefit of SOT membership is the opportunity to encourage the recognition of an outstanding individual who is not a member of the Society by nominating this individual for Honorary Membership!

The Nominating Committee for Honorary Members invites SOT members to nominate candidates for Honorary Membership. Since 1962, the Society has recognized nonmembers who embody outstanding and sustained achievements in the field of toxicology and/or allied disciplines with Honorary Membership. Candidates are nominated by two Full or Associate members of the Society. Nominations should be accompanied by seconding letters and information regarding career achievements in toxicology. Honorary members will be elected by a two-thirds majority vote of the SOT Council.

Per the SOT Bylaws, no more than two Honorary members may be elected during any one term of Council. To nominate for Honorary Membership, visit the “Honorary Membership” web page on the SOT website, click “nominate,” and follow all submission instructions. The nomination deadline is November 4.

Nomination materials include a letter of nomination, a seconding letter of nomination, and the candidate’s abbreviated CV (10 pages maximum).

The 2022–2023 Nominating Committee for Honorary Members includes Drs. Myrtle Davis (Chair), George Daston, and Dori Germolec.