Pfizer Inc. and SOT Honor and Support Meritorious Undergraduates


By Mindy Reynolds posted 02-06-2020 14:59


2020 SOT Awards Banner.png

The Pfizer SOT Undergraduate Student Travel Awards are presented to outstanding pre-baccalaureate students whose research abstracts have been accepted for presentation at the SOT Annual Meeting. Each recipient receives travel and lodging support to enable their attendance at the Annual Meeting to share their scientific research findings with attendees from around the globe. This competitive award is conferred based on the quality of the submitted poster abstract, personal statement, academic record, and the advisor’s supporting recommendation.

Based on their superlative achievements, 21 Pfizer SOT Undergraduate Travel Awards will be conferred to the following individuals:

  • William Luke Acuff, Mississippi State University, Mississippi State, MS
  • Celeste K. Carberry, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Jonathan M. Carnino, Boston University, Boston, MA
  • Christopher Wayne Clark, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA
  • Lucie Ford, Salve Regina University, Newport, RI; research in the abstract conducted at University of Rhode Island
  • Munchelou M. Gomonit, Sam Houston State University, Huntsville, TX
  • Natalie L. Johnson, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR; research in the abstract conducted at University of Kansas Medical Center
  • Dana Joseph, Yale School of Medicine, West Haven, CT
  • Jordan Michele Lee, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Piscataway, NJ
  • Clayton Mansel, William Jewell College, Liberty, MO
  • Macarena Martín Mayor, King University, Bristol, TN
  • Dylan McBee, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX
  • Joseph P. McGaunn, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA
  • Nam D. Nguyen, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
  • Kelly Jane Rivenbark, King University, Bristol, TN
  • Andrés D. Rivera Ruiz, Universidad Ana G. Méndez Gurabo, Gurabo, PR; research in the abstract conducted at Michigan State University
  • Jessica R. Schlabach, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, KY
  • Emily Severance, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA
  • Saren Smith, College of St. Scholastica, Duluth, MN; research in the abstract conducted at University of Connecticut
  • Emily L. Strand, Oberlin College and Conservatory, Oberlin, OH
  • Menna Y. Teffera, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA

“Since its inception, SOT has been committed to fostering the development of the next generation of scientists,” said Christine Perdan Curran, PhD, Chair of FUTURE. “This commitment is shared by Pfizer in providing financial and mentoring support to encourage these exceptional young researchers.” Each award recipient is matched with a Pfizer scientist as a mentor for the meeting, is recognized at a special event hosted by Pfizer, and attends the SOT Sunday Undergraduate Education Program, as well as participating in other meeting activities.

The Pfizer SOT Undergraduate Travel Award recipients will be among those formally honored at the Awards Ceremony and during other activities during the Society’s 59th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Anaheim, California, March 15–19, 2020. For additional information about these awardees, please visit the “ePubs and App” web page of the Annual Meeting website and read and/or download the SOT Awards Program, which features these recipients on pages 19–23.

2020 Annual Meeting Banner - Pink.png