2017 SOT Awards Recognize More Than Two Dozen Eminent Scientists and Future Scientific Leaders


By Elaine Faustman posted 12-14-2016 15:40


I am pleased to announce the 2017 SOT Award recipients, who are among the best and brightest toxicologists in the world. 

As 2016‒2017 SOT President John B. Morris, PhD, says of this year's honorees, “The 2017 SOT Awards recipients have worked or continue to work in academia, government, and industry. Their expertise lies in diverse realms from the effects of the common painkiller acetaminophen on the liver to the health impacts of oil spills and hydraulic fracturing. But they all share a few commonalities: They are all excellent scientists, and they are seeking to create a safer and healthier world through their work. The Society is honored to recognize them for their efforts.”

The 2017 SOT Award recipients are:

SOT Honorary Membership
George D. Leikauf, PhD, University of Pittsburgh, PA
Jonathan M. Samet, MD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA

SOT Achievement Award
Jason R. Richardson, PhD, DABT, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Rootstown, OH

SOT Arnold J. Lehman Award
Lorenz R. Rhomberg, PhD, ATS, Gradient, Cambridge, MA

SOT Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award
Linda S. Birnbaum, PhD, DABT, ATS, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)-National Toxicology Program (NTP), Research Triangle Park, NC

SOT Education Award
Debra L. Laskin, PhD, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ

SOT Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award
David G. Allen, PhD, ILS supporting the National Toxicology Program (NTP) Interagency Center for the Evaluation of Alternative Toxicological Methods (NICEATM), Research Triangle Park, NC

SOT Founders Award (supported by the SOT Endowment Fund)
Meryl H. Karol, PhD, ATS, University of Pittsburgh, Palo Alto, CA

SOT Global Senior Scholar Exchange Program
Scholar: Olufunke Eunice Ola-Davies, DVM, PhD, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria
Host: Augustine Arukwe, DSc, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway

Scholar: Ansam F. Sawalha, PhD, An-Najah National University, Nablus, Palestine
Hosts: Stephen G. Gilbert, PhD, DABT; David L. Eaton, PhD, ATS; and Elaine Faustman, PhD, DABT, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington

SOT Merit Award
Samuel M. Cohen, MD, PhD, ATS, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE

SOT Public Communications Award
Bernard D. Goldstein, MD, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

SOT Translational/Bridging Travel Award
Jayanta K. Das, PhD, Florida International University, Miami, FL

SOT Translational Impact Award
Laura P. James, MD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Little Rock, AR

SOT Undergraduate Educator Award (supported by the SOT Endowment Fund)
Karen E. Stine, PhD, Auburn University at Montgomery, Montgomery, AL

Toxicological Sciences Paper of the Year Award
“Ethanol Attenuates Histiotrophic Nutrition Pathways and Alters the Intracellular Redox Environment and Thiol Proteome during Rat Organogenesis” (Toxicological Sciences, 2015, 147(2) 475‒489); Authors: Joseph L. Jilek, Karilyn E. Sant, Katherine H. Cho, Matthew S. Reed, Jan Pohl, Jason M. Hansen, and Craig Harris

Colgate-Palmolive Award for Student Research Training in Alternative Methods
Emily Martell, BS, University of Rhode Island, Ashaway, RI

Colgate-Palmolive Grant for Alternative Research
Hao Zhu, PhD, Rutgers University, Camden, NJ
Almudena Veiga-Lopez, DVM, PhD, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI

Colgate-Palmolive Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in In Vitro Toxicology
Peer W.F. Karmaus, PhD, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, Memphis, TN

Pfizer SOT Undergraduate Student Travel Award

  • Katrina Borofski, University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst, MA
  • Jeliyah Clark, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Itaevia Curry-Chisolm, North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC (Institution where research was conducted: US Environmental Protection Agency [US EPA])
  • Chantel V. Duscent, Claflin University, Orangeburg, SC
  • Jellisa Ewan, Claflin University, Orangeburg, SC
  • Alexandra Folcik, Florida Institute of Technology, Melbourne, FL (Institution where research was conducted: National Center for Toxicological Research)
  • Julian Freedland, University at Albany, Albany, NY
  • Danielle Germundson, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, ND
  • Alondra Harris, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ
  • Lauren Heine, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM (Institution where the research was conducted: Oregon State University)
  • Jessica Hoffman, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Keegan Krick, University of Massachusetts Boston, Cambridge, MA (Institution where research was conducted: Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution)
  • Jesse Leissa, Ohio State University, Columbus, OH (Institution where research was conducted: US Food and Drug Administration [US FDA] White Oak Campus)
  • Michael McLawhorn, Mars Hill University, Marshall, NC
  • Mariella A. Mestres-Villanueva, University of Puerto Rico Rio Piedras, Rio Piedras, PR (Institution where the research was conducted: Purdue University)
  • Isabella Reichardt, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, WI (Institution where the research was conducted: Michigan State University)
  • Samantha Saunders, Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, VA
  • Rachel Schafer, Kenyon College, Gambier, OH
  • Stacy Schkoda, California State University Fullerton, Fullerton, CA (Institution where the research was conducted: Oregon State University)
  • Hannah J. Smith, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC
  • Mary F. Stofan, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM (Institution where the research was conducted: Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey)
  • Kaylin White, Spelman College, Atlanta, GA (Institution where the research was conducted: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
  • Veronika Yakovishina, John Jay College of Criminal Justice, Brooklyn, NY

Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human Health Applications of New Technologies
Fabian A. Grimm, PhD, Texas A&M University, College State, TX

More information on the 2017 SOT Awards recipients is available on the SOT website.

Through its awards, the Society recognizes more than two dozen groundbreaking scientists, emerging leaders, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students who are advancing the science of toxicology. The 2017 honorees represent various disciplines, which all factor into toxicological research. Beyond scientific achievements, the SOT Awards also recognize the contributions of educators and science communicators as they work to encourage students to pursue STEM careers and improve public understanding of the connection between scientific research and public health. Each year, SOT also provides support to more than 100 graduate and undergraduate students through student travel awards and the SOT Endowment Fund Awards.

The 2017 SOT Award recipients will be honored formally during an awards ceremony during the Society’s 56th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo in Baltimore, Maryland, March 12–16, 2017.