Congratulations to the 2021 SOT Award Recipients


By Brian Cummings posted 12-17-2020 16:27


The Society is pleased to announce and recognize the 2021 SOT Award recipients for their many accomplishments and their commitment to the field—especially during this chaotic and uncertain year. Through its awards, SOT recognizes more than two dozen scientists, emerging leaders, postdoctoral researchers, and graduate students who are advancing the science of toxicology. In addition, the Society provides support to graduate and undergraduate students through student awards and the SOT Endowment Fund awards.

The 2021 awardees represent outstanding researchers in academia, industry, and government across the globe and career stages. Among those being honored are undergraduate students showing great promise in toxicology, graduate students beginning to make their mark in toxicology, and outstanding postdocs conducting cutting-edge research, as well as emeritus investigators whose work set the very foundations of toxicology as we know it today.

The SOT Virtual Annual Meeting and ToxExpo will feature special recognition of the 2021 Award recipients, including our newly inducted Honorary members. Please also join the Awards Committee, in conjunction with the SOT leadership, to recognize these distinguished scientists during the Awards and Honors Recognition, which will take place on March 25 from 10:00 am to 11:00 am (US EDT, UTC -4). The awardees also will be recognized through a full, produced awards presentation that will be made available on March 14 and will continue to be accessible for viewing throughout the meeting and onward.

To view the citations of the award recipients, please consult the “2021 SOT Award Recipients” web page on the SOT website and the 2021 Awards Program PDF.

2021 SOT Awards

Honorary Membership

Thomas A. Burke, PhD

Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health, Baltimore, MD

Honorary Membership

Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD

Stanford School of Medicine, Stanford, CA

Achievement Award

Andrew D. Patterson, PhD

Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA

Arnold J. Lehman Award

Calvin C. Willhite, PhD

Risk Sciences International and McLaughlin Centre for Population Health Risk Assessment, Ottawa, ON, Canada

Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award

Deborah Cory-Slechta, PhD

University of Rochester Medical Center, Rochester, NY


Wei Zheng, PhD, ATS

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

Enhancement of Animal Welfare Award

Barbara A. Wetmore, PhD

US EPA Office of Research and Development, Center for Computational Toxicology and Exposure, Research Triangle Park, NC

Founders Award (for Outstanding Leadership in Toxicology)

Michael Gallo, PhD, ATS, DABT

Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, Piscataway, NJ

Leading Edge in Basic Science Award

Dana C. Dolinoy, PhD

University of Michigan School of Public Health, Ann Arbor, MI

Merit Award

Rogene Henderson, PhD, DABT

Lovelace Respiratory Research Institute, Albuquerque, NM

Public Communications Award

Johnnye Lewis, PhD

University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Toxicologist Mentoring

K. S. Rao, PhD, DABT

Eurofins/Advinus, Bangalore, India

Translational Impact Award

Rebecca Fry, PhD

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

Undergraduate Educator Award

Larissa Williams, PhD

Bates College, Lewiston, ME

2021 Supported Awards

Colgate-Palmolive Award for Student Research Training in Alternative Methods

Aditya Bhalerao, MS

Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine, Rochester, MI

Project Title:
“Toxicological Impact of Smoking on a Microfluidic Model of the Blood-Brain Barrier—Risks and Outcomes for Neurological Disorders”

Colgate-Palmolive Award for Student Research Training in Alternative Methods

Dakota Robarts, BS

University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS

Project Title:
“Is Loss of HNF4α Function a Key Event in Chemical Carcinogenesis?”

Colgate-Palmolive Grant for Alternative Research

Isabel Ferreira, MSc

Universidade de Coimbra, Coimbra, Portugal

Project Title:
“Development of a Defined Approach for Respiratory Sensitization Hazard Assessment”

Colgate-Palmolive Grant for Alternative Research

Balaji Karthick Subramanian, PhD

Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA

Project Title:
“3D Microperfused Array Model of Kidney Tubules for Acute Toxicity Testing”

Colgate-Palmolive Postdoctoral Fellowship Award in In Vitro Toxicology

Naeem Sheik Abdul, PhD

Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Applied Microbial and Health Biotechnology Institute, Cape Town, South Africa

Project Title:
”Role of Non-coding RNAs in Fumonisin B1–Induced Metabolic Toxicity: An Alternate Mechanism of Action”

Syngenta Fellowship Award in Human Health Applications of New Technologies

Osman Sharifim, MS

University of California Davis, Davis, CA

Project Title:
“Effects of PCB Mixtures on Gene Expression in Distinct Cell Types of the Rett Syndrome Mouse Model Brain”

Toxicological Sciences Paper of the Year Award

Gene Expression and DNA Methylation
Alterations in the Glycine
N-Methyltransferase Gene in Diet-Induced
Nonalcoholic Fatty Liver
Disease–Associated Carcinogenesis

Barbara Borowa-Mazgaj, Aline de Conti, Volodymyr Tryndyak,
Colleen R. Steward, Leandro Jimenez, Stepan Melnyk,
Mulugeta Seneshaw, Faridodin Mirshahi, Ivan Rusyn,
Frederick A. Beland, Arun J. Sanyal, and Igor P. Pogribny.

2019. Toxicological Sciences 170, no. 2 (August): 273–82.