Nominate a Nonmember Scientist for Honorary Membership by October 9

By George Daston posted 09-30-2021 15:32


The Nominating Committee for Honorary Members invites SOT members to nominate a candidate for Honorary membership. Since 1962, the Society has recognized nonmembers who embody outstanding and sustained achievements in the field of toxicology and/or allied disciplines with Honorary membership.

Candidates are nominated by two Full or Associate members of the Society. Nomination materials include a letter of nomination, a seconding letter of nomination, and the candidate’s abbreviated CV (10 pages maximum). Nomination materials should highlight information regarding the candidate’s career achievements in toxicology. Honorary members will be elected by a two-thirds majority vote of the SOT Council.

Per the SOT Bylaws, no more than two Honorary members may be elected during any one term of Council. To nominate a distinguished scientist for Honorary membership, visit the “Honorary Membership” web page on the SOT website, click Nominate, and follow all submission instructions. The nomination deadline is October 9, 2021.

Recognizing an outstanding individual who is not an SOT member with a nomination for Honorary membership it is a benefit of SOT membership!

The 2021–2022 Nominating Committee for Honorary Members includes Drs. George Daston (Chair), Ronald Hines, and Michael Aschner.