1 to 10 of 44
Sort by

Blog Entry
SOT Congratulates the 2020 Endowment Award Recipients

Even during these uncertain times, the SOT Endowment Fund still serves as a mechanism for supporting toxicologists and the science of toxicology now and into the future. To recognize their outstanding achievements, this year, more than 100 deserving undergraduate and graduate students,...

Blog Entry
2020 SOT Supported Awards

The Society is grateful to the Colgate-Palmolive Company and Syngenta for their longtime support of awards that facilitate research by SOT members. The recipients of the 2020 SOT Supported Awards will be recognized during the Awards Ceremony of the 59th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo , to take...

Blog Entry
SOT Welcomes Its Newest Honorary Member, Laura E. Nagy

Laura E. Nagy, PhD, is an internationally recognized leader in the field of alcohol-induced organ diseases. In particular, she has made significant contributions to the understanding of the role of the innate immune system in the progression of alcohol-associated liver diseases (AALD). She also...

Blog Entry
Norbert E. Kaminski Receives 2020 SOT Merit Award

Norbert E. Kaminski, PhD, has received the 2020 SOT Merit Award for his sustained and highly influential contributions to the discipline of toxicology. After receiving his PhD in toxicology and physiology from North Carolina State University in 1985, Dr. Kaminski conducted his postdoctoral...

Blog Entry
Wen-Xing Ding Receives 2020 SOT Leading Edge in Basic Science Award

Wen-Xing Ding, PhD, has received the 2020 SOT Leading Edge in Basic Science Award for his recent contributions to advancing the fundamental understanding of liver toxicology and his breakthrough research on autophagy and mitophagy. Dr. Ding received his PhD from the National University of...

Blog Entry
Pfizer Inc. and SOT Honor and Support Meritorious Undergraduates

The Pfizer SOT Undergraduate Student Travel Awards are presented to outstanding pre-baccalaureate students whose research abstracts have been accepted for presentation at the SOT Annual Meeting. Each recipient receives travel and lodging support to enable their attendance at the Annual Meeting...

Blog Entry
Shuk-mei Ho Receives 2020 SOT Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award

Shuk-mei Ho, PhD, has been awarded the 2020 SOT Distinguished Toxicology Scholar Award for her pivotal work elucidating the role of endocrine disruptors in disease and on the developmental origins of adult disease. Dr. Ho received her PhD in zoology from the University of Hong Kong in 1978....

Blog Entry
Upcoming SOT Component Group and Committee Award Deadlines: February 2020

In addition to SOT awards, fellowships, and Supported Awards with an October application/nomination deadline, the SOT Regional Chapters, Special Interest Groups, and Specialty Sections confer many awards throughout the year to recognize the achievements of toxicologists, particularly graduate...

Blog Entry
Christine Perdan Curran Receives 2020 SOT Bruce A. Fowler Undergraduate Educator Award

Christine Perdan Curran, PhD, has been awarded the 2020 SOT Bruce A. Fowler Undergraduate Educator Award for her excellence, creativity, and success in undergraduate instruction in toxicology and the sciences as a whole. Dr. Curran received her BSJ from Ohio University. Then, as evidence of...

Blog Entry
David A. Jett Receives 2020 SOT Translational Impact Award

David A. Jett, PhD, has received the 2020 SOT Translational Impact Award for his translational research efforts to develop safer and more effective treatments for highly toxic agent exposure. After earning his PhD in pharmacology and experimental therapeutics from the University of Maryland...